ACLS Course – A Closer Look

A Brief Description of the ACLS Courses

One of the primary questions we receive at Pacific Medical Training is what exactly is included in the training material. Some people are concerned about the thoroughness of the curriculum and others are concerned about its compliance with American Heart Associate standards. The following blogpost gives a brief explanation of what is included in the ACLS curriculum for both certification and recertification. The ACLS training material is broken down into seven primary units.

 Unit 1: General Concepts

 Unit one gives a basic introduction to ACLS training and provides a basic definition of ALCS. The main part of unit is a detailed summary of the 2010 guideline changes to the American Heart Association manual.

 Unit 2: BLS and ACLS Surveys

 Unit two of the ACLS training curriculum covers BLS and ACLS surveys. There is a specific process that an emergency responder should follow when faced with a BLS or ACLS situation. Unit two also covers emergency response activation, detailed adult CPR procedures and more.

 Unit 3: Team Dynamics

 Unit three goes over emergency response team dynamics. Included is a detailed matrix of team leader and team member actions for different scenarios and expectations.

 Unit 4: Systems of Care

 Unit four goes into detail about the Adult Chain of Survival as well as post cardiac arrest care. It also covers acute coronary syndromes, acute stroke care and more.

 Unit 5: ACLS Cases

 Unit five is the most extensive unit in the curriculum and covers a tremendous amount of information. The subsections in unit five are as follows: Respiratory Arrest, Ventricular Fibrillation with CPR and AED, VF Pulseless VT PEA and Asystole, Post Cardiac Arrest Care Sequence, Acute Coronary Syndromes, Bradycardia, Stable and Unstable Tachycardia and Acute Stroke.

 Unit 6: Pharmacology in Resuscitation

 Unit six covers all of the relevant medications that can and should be used in ACLS scenarios. For every drug there is a detailed description of the following: classification, indications, dosage and administration, possible side effects and other considerations.

 Unit 7: Rhythm Recognition

Unit seven displays a series of EKG rhythms and gives the technical rhythm name. Some of the rhythms that are included are Sinus Rhythm and Sinus Tachyardia.


 We hope that this post gives our customers a better understanding of the information that is included in the Pacific Medical Training ACLS manual. All of the test questions are drawn exclusively from the training material.