EMT recertification cheat sheet and information

Please direct to us.

EMT licensure levels

A National Scope of Practice Model was developed to describe the responsibilities of different members of the emergency medical system. There were five old levels of licensure that were converted into 4 new levels due to the scope of practice guidelines. Following are the new nationally certified licensure levels.

Emergency medical responder Emergency medical technician Advanced EMT Paramedic

Emergency medical responder

Possesses basic lifesaving knowledge and skills necessary to initiate immediate care for critical patients.

Emergency medical technician

Provide basic medical care for critical patients during transport. Provide intervention as necessary.

Advanced EMT

Performs basic and advanced intervention for patients during transport to the emergency care system.


Performs basic and advanced intervention. Handles complex decisions during transport to emergency care.

Background information:

National Continued Competency Program

The National Continued Competency Program (NCCP) is required to renew EMS certification. There are several different types of education including live learning (which has no limit) or distributive education. Distributive education (DE) is an educational activity where the learner and instructor are not present at the same time and unable to interact. To count for recertification credit, the course should be state EMS office recognized or accredited. For each of the CE courses, you cannot repeat the same course per each registration cycle.

The NCCP has three components that span different areas:

Level # CEU Hours National Local Individual Total
EMR Total 8 4 4 16
DE 3 3 4 10
EMT Total 20 10 10 40
DE 7 7 10 24
AEMT Total 25 12.5 12.5 50
DE 8 8 12.5 28.5
NRP Total 30 15 15 60
DE 10 10 15 35

How long is a recertification cycle for EMS?

Certification cycles start on the day the recertification application is processed and approved by the National Registry. The new expiration is two years after the current expiration date on your account.

Do EMS providers need to take ACLS?

Under the NCCP, EMS providers do not need to take ACLS. However, all emergency medical personnel benefit tremendously when they are ACLS certified.

Transition information

As part of the Scope of Practice guidelines, the five old levels of licensure will be converted into 4 new levels. Following is a list of your transition plan and the timeline you must complete this transition by.

Old designation New designation Transition deadline Transition guide
EMT-basic Emergency medical technician (EMT) March 31, 2015* EMT-basic to emergency medical eechnician (EMT)
First responder Emergency medical responder (EMR) September 30, 2015* First responder to emergency medical responder (EMR)
EMT-I/85 Advanced emergency medical technician (AEMT) March 31, 2015* EMT-I/85 to advanced emergency medical technician (AEMT)
EMT-I/99 Paramedic (NRP) March 31, 2017* EMT-I/99 to paramedic (NRP)
EMT-paramedic Paramedic (NRP) March 31, 2015* EMT-paramedic to paramedic (NRP)

* For people that renewed after 2011 under an old designation, you may have an extra year for transition, see details in the PDF guide.

NOTICE: EMT-intermediate 99s will transfer to NRP, this will add the requirement for ACLS certification during your transfer.

More information

Check these guides for details:

First Responder
First responder
(xfer to NREMR)
(xfer to NREMT)
(xfer to NRAEMT)
(xfer to NRP)
(xfer to NRP)
NR Paramedic